Square Enix to Release ‘Octopath Traveler: Break and Boost’ Arrangement Album

Octopath Traveler: Break and Boost

Square Enix games, especially their RPGs, are in many ways synonymous with their music. When you think of Final Fantasy, arguably before you think of the series’ most iconic story moments, the first thing that comes to mind is the “Chocobo Theme” or the “Victory Fanfare”. The Dragon Quest series is very difficult to disassociate from its iconic main theme, while the NieR series is widely revered for the amazing soundtrack produced by composer Keiichi Okabe.

In turn, many of their soundtracks receive special rearrangements that prove popular with fans of the games who want to experience the soundtracks with a new perspective. Following the widespread success of Octopath Traveler on Nintendo Switch, which was recently announced to have surpassed 1 million copies sold worldwide, Square Enix has announced the first arrangement album for the title, named “Break and Boost”.

This special album will take 12 tracks from the game’s soundtrack and give each of them new arrangements. Following the album’s name, this will be split into a ‘Break Side’ and a ‘Boost Side’, with a different theme for the remixes based on this. The tracks on the Break Side will be brand new piano arrangements of the selected songs, while the tracks on the ‘Boost Side’ are band arrangements.

The track list for this album is as follows:

Break Side:-
1. The Frostlands
2. Primrose, The Dancer
3. Determination
4. A Settlement in the Red Bluffs
5. Orwell, Beneath the Crags
6. Battle 2

Boost Side:-
1. Battle 1
2. Battle 2
3. They Who Govern Reason
4. Battle at Journey’s End
5. Daughter of the Dark God
6. Octopath Traveler – Main Theme

The album is set to release on February 20, 2019, and will be priced at 3,000 yen. Those interested in checking out further information on the upcoming release, including how to pre-order it, be sure to check out Square Enix’s official website.

Join Our Discussions on Discord